Insanity Over Voteforthemilf.com
Posted on October 4, 2008
Seriously, these people on the Left should have continued their therapy sessions after the 2004 election. Of course, they probably sought out psychiatrists that were Liberals, too. Case in point
What a bizarre (and tawdry) series-of-tubes headache for the McCain campaign.
How could it be that a Web site titled “VoteForTheMilf” redirects users to Republican nominee John McCain’s official campaign Website? True stuff. Or at least it was until someone mysteriously un-directed the redirection.
As of just moments ago, anyone who typed “www.voteforthemilf.com” into his or her Web browser and hit enter was immediately redirected to McCain’s site, www.johnmccain.com, where vice presidential nominee Sarah Palin greeted first-time users via video. (The .net and .org versions of voteforthemilf also redirected users to the McCain campaign site.)
The curious linkage was first discovered by GovGap. As you can see at Network Solutions, the “voteforthemilf” domain was created on Aug. 29, the same day that McCain announced Palin as his running mate.
Would it surprise you that the above comes from a Washington Post blog? Or that “The Sleuth gives a tip of the ‘ole hat to our colleague on Style, intrepid lampooner Libby Copeland, who happened upon an item on the dreaded URL snafu on the Washington City Paper’s blog.” It shouldn’t, considering the derangement syndrome for anything that they do not like they express.
It shouldn’t surprise you that the Washington City Paper got their info from a very hard left site, with the Washington Post following next. All three are making allegations they cannot back up with, you know, facts. I found it via Memeorandum from Crooks and Liars. The Post makes insinuations and accusations, all designed to make you think this is some sort of nefarious plot!
But, if we look it up at Network Solutions, we see: Web Site Title: VoteForTheMILF.com/.net/.org was a simple prank. | n00tz.net. Could it be BS? Sure. The info for my address is wrong, too.
BTW, I own mybarackobama.us. I’ve owned it for a few months, haven’t done a thing with it. I just set it up to redirect to thepiratescove.us, should take affect shortly.
The death of sanity and journalistic ethics occurred in 2008.
» Filed Under Elections, Liberal Media/Bias, News, Sarah Palin, Satire, Stupidity, Unhinged
Trackback URL
Comments
4 Responses to “Insanity Over Voteforthemilf.com”
Leave a Reply




























Well yes, they are ignorant idiots. But then again we saw the exact same ignorant claim from Charles at LGF about a website that redirected to Obama’s website just a couple of weeks ago.
And I do mean exactly. Both people somehow managed to check the IP address for 1 website twice and remarkably found a match. OMG evidenz aha!
Who’d have thought that having no understanding of how the internet works and using this as a basis for discovering “evidence” of things would turn out to not be that.
BTW, a search for “domain” here turns up this story and the one where hundreds of thousands of blogs (most of them about cat pics) were marked as spam by an acknowledged bug at Blogger, which was then claimed to be the work of Obama supporters based on the same non-evidence and ignorant assumptions.
So, you know, this derangement wouldn’t appear to be a partisan thing.
I’m happy you’re writing about this. I also saw the story on govgap.com. Maybe you can investigate? Govgap.com alleges that the ip address of the purchasers of votefortheMILF.com and the McCain official site as well as other Republican websites is the same. If the ip address is the same, then the purchasers are using the same router / internet connection. I’m very offended by the existence of the site, offended that it pointed to the McCain site, but remain hopeful that the site was not purchased by the Republican campaign. I look forward to your own investigation. Thank you.
Kilo, I understand your point, but, it is curious that bloggers who are anti-Obama keep getting flagged at Blogger, eh?
A.E., I looked it up this AM, and, the problem is that quite a few websites use the service Domains By Proxy (domainsbyproxy.com) quite a bit to mask their personal information, using DBP’s info instead. DBP is one of the biggest services for this. Johnmccain.com uses the same service as does the voteforthemilf.com site. That may look funny, but, the Daily Kos uses the same DBP, too. So does Little Green Footballs.
There are lots of sites that use private registrations out there. I could do it with my thepiratescove.us one, too, either through Godaddy, or, by using DPB.
“Kilo, I understand your point, but, it is curious that bloggers who are anti-Obama keep getting flagged at Blogger, eh?”
Not curious, no. A whole bunch of people got flagged. The anti-Obama people thought it was Obama and I guess the cat blogs thought it was the dog lovers.
Apart from that, if someone thinks it’s a problem, I’d suggest looking at the template code for blogger pages that don’t show the abuse flag and adopt that.
Specifically I can recall that “Americablog” used to be run on blogger but used a template of it’s own. If it was problem not showing the flag, they would have had enough traffic for it to get fixed. It didn’t.